Planning Commission

The Commission serves as an advisory board that makes recommendations to the Supervisors, Zoning Hearing Board, and to the Zoning Officer. The Commission reviews all major and minor subdivisions, land development plans and any new zoning changes such as variances or home occupations. Members of the Commission meet with the Supervisors from time to time to work on new zoning changes and ordinances.


  • 5:30 pm.
  • The fourth Thursday of every month
  • Schoonover Municipal Building

These meetings are open to the public. Any person with a disability requiring a special accommodation to attend any Township meeting should notify the secretary at 570-223-8920 as early as possible, but no later than three working days prior to the meeting. The Board will make every effort to provide a reasonable accommodation.

Minutes & Agendas

View Planning Commission Minutes and Agendas.


The Planning Commission consists of five residents of the township and one alternate and are appointed by the Supervisors for a term of four years. The terms are staggered so that there are always experienced members on the commission.

  • Bob Early - Chair
  • Parin Shah - Vice Chair
  • Wayne Bolt - Secretary
  • Nick Theofilos
  • Mark Oney
  • Carrie Wetherbee (Alternate)
  • Benjamin Kutz, Gilmore & Associates - Engineer
  • Deborah L. Huffman- Weitzmann, Weitzmann and Huffman, LLC - Solicitor

Act of 1968, P.L805, No247, Section 202. Planning Commission. If the governing body of any municipality shall elect to create a planning commission, such commission shall have not less than three nor more than nine members.

More Information

The Board of Supervisors adopted the Plan Application and Retainer Fee Calculation Form (PDF) by Resolution No. 01-2011-01 on January 3, 2011. Middle Smithfield Township Plan Application and Retainer Fee Calculation Form

The Middle Smithfield Township Comprehensive Plan was completed in 2022. Copies are available for purchase at the township office or can be downloaded.